Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeCanadaWhy Does Canada Have 6 Different Standard Times?

Why Does Canada Have 6 Different Standard Times?

Canada has much more than just the second biggest country in the world. Today, we will show you the answer to the question “why does Canada have 6 different standard times?”

Time Zones


The entire world has 24 time zones. Time zones are essential cause they’re geographical regions that maintain uniform definitive time for social, commercial, and legal purposes. 

Canada has 6 distinct time zones. From the West side to the East side, they are Pacific, Mountain, Central, Eastern, Atlantic, and Newfoundland.

Another country that also has 6 time zones is the USA. Russia is the country that now takes the lead with a number of 11 time zones.

The Reason – Different Standard Times


The size of the total land area of Canada is one of the main reasons why this country has various time zones. 

When looking at the map, Canada extends from 52 degrees to 141 degrees west. Only 1 time zone is 15 degrees wide. This means that the nation covers 6 separate time zones. Especially, each of the time zones we mentioned above has a one-hour interval, except for Newfoundland. This time zone has just a 30-minute interval. 

The earliest time is Pacific Time, at UTC -8, and the latest is Newfoundland, UTC -3:30.

Daylight Saving Time


In Canada, people observe daylight saving time from March to November. In 1918, according to the nationwide government’s regulation, this convention was brought into practice. In WWI, Canadians utilized this system to assist their battle production. Other countries such as Britain and Germany also applied this legislation during w.a.r time.

At the moment, Canadians proceed their clocks by 1 hour every 2nd Sunday of March. Then, they will return it to the typical time by the 1st Sunday of November. By doing this, they can save time in the daylight and have more hours at night. In this period of the year, the day appears to be greatly extended.

Besides, in terms of DST, the borders change as well. Several municipalities reject to adjust their time because it will cause the dividing line to change. For instance, during winter, northeastern British Columbia doesn’t pursue the Mountain time zone.

Special Time – Different Standard Times


In Canada, there are 3 areas that have special times.

Saskatchewan province is the first one. Since the locals here use the Central typical time for the entire year, they don’t advance their clocks to DST. 

Then, here we are Labrador and Newfoundland. Though they exist in the same region, they have 2 separate time zones. Labrador applies the Atlantic time, meanwhile, Newfoundland uses the Newfoundland time.

Related Posts You Can Read:

Where is the best spot to catch the northern lights in Canada?

Strange Facts About The Climate In Canada

Top 10 Weird Facts About Canada’s Climate

Maris Lopez
Maris Lopezhttp:////
Hey there! I'm Maris, an American girl who is passionate about adventure, the outdoors and all things travel!


  1. After exploring a handful of the blog articles on your blog, I seriously appreciate your technique of blogging. I book marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website too and let me know how you feel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular